Four SC judges take oath

Four newly-appointed judges of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court took oath of office on Sunday morning amid protest by BNP-Jamaat-backed lawyers as the appointments ‘superseded’ other companion judges. The judges are Mohammad Anwarul Haque, Siddiqur Rahman Miah, Hasan Fayez Siddique and AHM Shamsuddin Chowdhury.
Chief Justice M Muzzammel Hossain administered the oath at the Judges’ Lounge at a simple ceremony.
Most judges of the both divisions of the Supreme Court attended the function.
The four judges of the High Court were elevated to the Appellate Division on March 28, raising the number of judges at the apex court to 10
Acting President Abdul Hamid made the appointments in consultation with the Chief Justice.
Later, the newly sworn-in judges were traditionally felicitated by leader of the Bar Attorney General Mahbubey Alam and vice-president of the outgoing Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) KM Saifuddin.
The protesting lawyers had held a sit-in on the first floor gangway between the SCBA building and the apex court before the oath taking ceremony began. UNB

Leave a Reply