All matches of Premier League T20 Cricket to get List ‘A’ status

Dhaka – All the matches of the T20 version of the 12-team Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League (DPDCL) beginning here on Monday (February 25) will get the List ‘A’ status.
Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has granted the status and informed the International Cricket Council of it accordingly, said its senior media manager Rabeed Imam on Tuesday.

As per the decision, all the records of the local T20 league will now enter into the record books like 50-over-a-side Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, which got the List A status earlier.

Twelve teams, split into four groups, will take part in the shorter version of the league and later the group champions will play in the semifinals on March 1 and the final will be held on March 3, all at Shere-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur under floodlights.

Foreign cricketers are allowed to play in the T20 league, but only one foreign player will be entitled to play for a team in the 50-over league.

This T20 league is considered as a preparatory event of Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) ahead of the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League scheduled to start on March 8. If it can produce some quality matches and some good T20 performances, it might continue in the future.

Most of the other Test-playing nations have more than one T20 domestic league but Bangladesh only has the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). Now, the local players found another opportunity to flourish their T20 prowess in the DPDCL T20.