Bangladesh Police emerge unbeaten champions

Dhaka – Bangladesh Police emerged unbeaten champions in the Walton Refrigerator Premier Division Chess League securing 22 points after the 9th and final round at the NSC Tower auditorium here on Tuesday.

Last year champions Saif Sporting Club finished as runners-up earning 20 points and newcomers Uttara Central Chess Club finished 3rd with 17 points.

Among others, Titas Club finished 4th with 15 points, Bangladesh Navy finished 5th with 15 points, Sheikh Russel Chess Club finished 6th with 9 points, Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society finished 7th with 9 points, Bangladesh Biman 8th with 9 points, Access Chess Club 9th with 5 points, Sonali Bank Sports and Recreation Club points 10th with 5 points, Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar finished 11th with 4 points and Sonargaon Chess Club finished 12th with one point.

The two bottom-placed teams — Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar and Sonargaon Chess Club — have been relegated from the Premier Division Chess to the First Division Chess.

Roll of Honor:

2011- Champions: Dhaka Mohammedan Sporting Club, Runners-Up: Bangladesh Biman.

2012-Champions: Dhaka Mohammedan Sporting Club, Runners-Up: Duranto Rajshahi.

2013-Champions: Dhaka Mohammedan Sporting Club, Runners-Up: Bangladesh Navy.

2014: Champions: Bangladesh Navy, Runners-Up: Dhaka Mohammedan Sporting Club.

2015-Champions: Sheikh Russel Memorial Sporting Club, Runners-Up: Bangladesh Navy.

2016-Champions: Saif Sporting Club, Runners-Up: Sheikh Russel Memorial Sporting Club.

2017-Champions: Bengal Chess Club, Runners-Up: Saif Sporting Club.

2018-Champions: Saif Sporting Club, Runners-Up: Bangladesh Navy.

2019-Champions: Bangladesh Police, Runners-Up-Saif Sporting Club.  UNB