BD Women’s concede 0-3 defeat against Nepal in opener

Dhaka – Bangladesh Women’s Volleyball team made a frustrating start in the 13th South Asian (SA) Games after conceding straight 0-3 sets defeat against hosts Nepal in the opening match at NSC Tripureshwor Covered Hall in Kathmandu on Wednesday.

Both the men’s and women’s volleyball competitions of the seven-nation South Asian Games began on Wednesday (Nov 27), four days ahead of the formal opening of the meet on December 1.

Touring Bangladesh Women’s team suffered 9-25 points defeat in each of the first two sets and losing the 3rd and last match by 11-25 points to suffer straight defeat.

Bangladesh Women’s team, which was placed in Group A along with India and Nepal, will play their 2nd and last group match on Friday (Nov 29) against India at 1:15 pm (BST) at the same venue.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh Men’s Volleyball team also scheduled to take on hosts Nepal Wednesday (Nov 27) evening at the same venue

Bangladesh Men’s team, which was also placed in Group A along with defending champions India and Nepal, will play their 2nd and last group match against India on Thursday (Nov 28) at 3:15 pm (BST) at the same venue.

Seven South Asian countries – Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Maldives, Pakistan, India Sri Lanka and hosts Nepal –will compete in 26 disciplines of eleven-day of the 13th edition of the meet with a 621-member contingent representing Bangladesh in the 25 sports.

Two top teams from each of the women’s and men’s competitions will play in the semifinals on November 30 and December 1 respectively while the finals of both groups will be held on December 3.

A 12-member Bangladesh Women’s Volleyball team: Lucky Khatun, Doly Akhtar, Soheli Akhtar, Shahida Parvin, Sibbi Khanom Babli, Asha, Bithi, Jahanara Khatun (Mukta), Rubina Sultana Ranu, Sabina Khatun, Ajmira Khatun and Suchona Parvin.

A 14-member Bangladesh Men’s Volleyball team: Masud Hossain, Mohammad Sujon, Harajit Biswash, Sadi Mohammad Shafin, Rashed Khan Menon, Ruhul Amin, Narayan Devnath, Tanvir Hossain Tonmoy, Mohammad Al Amin, Kaisar Hamid, Tirthokar Roy, Nahid Hasan, Ismail Hossain Pavel and Sona Mia.UNB