BFF election: contest to be held in all posts

DHAKA – As expected the contest will be held in all twenty one posts of Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) election after no one withdrew nomination paper in the president, senior vice president and vice president posts on the deadline of withdrawal the nomination paper today.

Today was the last day of withdrawal of the nomination paper and the last time was 5 pm. At that time two candidates – Zakir Hossain Babul of Uttar Baridhara Club and Saidur Rahman Manik of Ajampur Football Club – withdrew their nomination paper from member post.

The withdrawal of nomination paper by two candidates means forty seven candidates will now contest in the election. Among them three for one president posts, two for one senior vice president posts, eight for four vice president posts and thirty four for fifteen member posts.

The election commission will publish the final candidate list tomorrow (Sunday) at 3 pm.

It was initially assumed the upcoming BFF election was going to be a one-sided but, now the scenario is different after forty seven candidates are going to contest October 3 polls which means that the election is spreading heat and will be held in all twenty one posts.

In the president post, seating vice president Badal Roy and former national football and coach Shafiqul Islam Manik will compete against incumbent president Kazi Mohammad Salahuddin while

On the other hand, seating senior vice president Abdus Salam Murshedy, who was elected uncontested in the last BFF election, this time he will face a challenge as celebrated footballer Sheikh Mohammad Aslam stood in Murshedy’s way.

There are also hints in the competitive battle for the posts of senior vice president. Although there are four posts of vice president, eight candidates will now contest for the four vice president post.

New face and Bashundhara King’s president Imrul Hasan already proved himself as a successful organiser and everyone wants a successful organiser like Imrul to come forward for the development of football.

Kazi Nabil Ahmed MP, Tabith Awal, Sheikh Mohammad Maruf Hasan, Amirul Islam Babu and Mohiuddin Ahmed all are strong candidates and it’s expected a competitive battle in the posts of vice president.

Thirty four candidates will contest for fifteen executive member posts. Experienced organisers like Harunur Rashid and Shawkat Ali Khan Jahangir will contest in the member post along with popular footballers.BSS