Dhaka Abahani finish runners-up crushing Sheikh Jamal

Dhaka- Last two times champions Dhaka Abahani Limited had to remain satisfied with runners-up position in the 13-team Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) crushing former champions Sheikh Jamal DC by 4-1 goals in their last league match at Bangabandhu National Stadium here on Monday.

The popular sky-blue Dhanmondi outfit managed a consolation 2nd slot in the league securing 58 points from all 24 matches while Sheikh Jamal remained at the 6th slot with previous credit of 27 points from 23 matches.


Star-studded and big-budgeted Bashundhra Kings emerged champions in their very first appearance in the country’s top league securing 62 points from 23 matches and will play their remaining match against Chattogram Abahani on August 3.


In the day’s match, promising national striker Nabib Newaj Jibon scored two goals (5th and 42nd minute) while Nigerian striker Sunday Chizoba (57th minute) and midfielder Sohel Rana (71st minute) scored one goal each for Dhaka Abahani Ltd.


Dhaka Abahani conceded lone goal in the 60th minute of the match by a suicidal one as their defender Mohammed Mamun Miah sent the ball to his own net while trying to foil an opponent attempt.


In day’s another match, third-ranked Sheikh Russel KC played a 2-2 draw against lowly Rahmatganj MFS at Sylhet District Stadium.


Nigerian striker Raphael Odovin scored two goals for Sheikh Russel KC while defender Mohammed Faysal Ahmed and striker Siyo Zunapio netted one goal each for Rahmatganj MFS.


On the other hand, Sheikh Russel remained at the 3rd slot earning 49 points from 23 matches while Rahmatganj MFS remained at the 10th slot securing 21 points from 23 encounters.UNB