Fakhrul among 35 leaders who get bail

A court here on Sunday granted bail to 35 BNP leaders, including its Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, in two cases of violence filed with Shahbagh Police Station last year.

Judge of the Dhaka Metropolitan Sessions Court KM Imrul Kayes passed the order after a hearing on the bail petition of the BNP leaders on Sunday.

As the tenure of bail awarded by the High Court for eight weeks expired, the BNP leaders surrendered before the court and sought bail, said their lawyer Joynul Abedin Mesbah.

Those granted bail include Fakhrul, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Khairul Kabir Khokon, Syed Moazzem Hossain Alal, Habibun Nabi Khan Sohel and Nipun Roy. They got bail until April 4 next.

On December 11 last year, the two cases were filed with Shahbagh Police Station after three motorcycles were torched in Supreme Court area.

The High Court granted anticipatory bail to 23 BNP leaders, including Fakhrul, for eight weeks on December 15.

source: UNB