Feni municipal polls: 10 AL runners being elected unopposed

Feni, Jan 3 – Ten Awami League candidates are set to be elected ward councillors of Feni municipality as they were the only ones to submit nomination papers from their areas.
District Election Officer Md Nasir Uddin Patwari confirmed this.

On the last day of nomination paper submission on Thursday, 38 candidates submitted papers for 14 ward councillor posts. And ten nomination papers were submitted for the same number of wards.
Five mayoral candidates from Awami League, BNP and Jatiya Party submitted nomination papers.
And 49 candidates submitted nomination papers for general and reserve seats of ward councillors.
The election symbols of Feni municipality polls will be allotted on January 11 and voting is scheduled to be held on January 30.
On December 14, the Election Commission (EC) announced that the third phase elections of 64 municipalities of different districts would be held on January 30.
“The last date for scrutiny of nomination papers is January 3 and the deadline for the withdrawal of candidature is January 10,” said EC Joint Secretary (Public Relations) SM Asaduzzaman.
The 64 municipalities include Ulipur in Kurigram, Jaldhaka in Nilphamari, Gobindaganj in Gaibandha, Hakimpur in Dinajpur, Rohanpur in Chapainawabganj, Mundumala and Keshorhat in Rajshahi, Shibganj, Nandigram, Dhanut, Gabtoli and Kahalu in Bogura, Naogaon and Dhamoirhat in Naogaon, Singra in Natore and Pabna.
The other municipalities are Darshana in Chuadanga, Kotchadpur and Harinakundu in Jhenaidah, Manirampur in Jashore, Paikgacha in Khulna, Morelganj in Bagerhat, Kalaroa in Satkhira, Barguna and Patharghata in Barguna, Borhanuddin and Daulatkhan in Bhola Nalchity in Jhalokathi, Swarupkathi in Pirojpur, Gournadi and Mehendiganj in Barishal.
The municipalities also include Naria, Bhedarganj and Jajira in Shariatpur, Tungipara in Gopalganj, Kalia and Narail in Narail, Pangsha in Rajbari, Munshiganj, Madhupur, Tangail, Bhuapur, Sakhipur and Mirzapur in Tangail, Iswarganj, Bhaluka, Gouripur and Trishal in Mymensingh, Nakla and Nalitabari in Sherpur, Sarishabari in Jamalpur, Durgapur in Netrakona and Katiadi in Kishoreganj.
The rest of the municipalities are Golapganj and Jakiganj in Sylhet, Moulvibazar, Hajiganj in Chandpur, Barua, Chauddagram and Laksam in Cumilla, Feni, Hatia and Chowmuhani in Noakhali and Ramganj’s Lakshmipur.
The Election Commission earlier announced the schedules for the first and second phases of elections of 25 municipalities on December 28 and 61 on January 16. – UNB