Gayeswar wants BNP MPs to resign from Parliament

Dhaka, Dec 9 – BNP standing committee member Goyeshwar Chandra Roy Monday suggested the party lawmakers resign from 11th parliament and join what he said oust government movement.“The people won’t like the strategy of staying in government and parliament and seeking the fall of the government together…We have to make clear our determination that we want the fall of the government. Then, people will stand beside us,” he said while speaking at a discussion meeting.
Terming the present parliament as the illegal harvest of December 29, the day before the December 30 parliamentary polls, he said if the party lawmakers joined parliament on the strategic ground, they should first join people’s movement to topple of the government.
The BNP and its allies under the banner of 20-party alliance and Jatiya Oikyafront took part in the December 30 parliamentary polls where the BNP got only six seats and Ganaforum two seats from among 300 constituencies.
Soon after the election, the opposition alliance Jatiya Oikyafront rejected the elections alleging manipulation in the polls but later the BNP and Ganaforum lawmakers joined parliament what the leaders said on the strategic ground.
Nari O Shishu Adhikar Forum, a pro-BNP organization organisation arranged the meeting at Jatiya Press Club with its convenor and BNP standing committee member Selima Rahman in the chair.
The outspoken BNP leader said no movement could be intensified unless the BNP could clearly place before the people the party politics, aims and objectives and the path to reach the goal.
Referring to the mysterious death of Rubaiyat Sharmin Rumpa, he said how long Rumpas would die in such way as their lives are now endangered.
He questioned as to how long party chairperson Khaleda Zia would remain in jail answering that it cannot be prolonged and what he said the people want a change.
Goyeshwar said country’s democracy has been the victim of the enforced disappearance and called upon the people to take swear to build a democratic state by making the democracy visible.
BNP leaders- Barkat Ullah Bulu, Abdul Awal Mintoo, Tahsina Rushdir Luna, Syed Moazzem Hossain Alal, Abdus Salam Azad, among others, were present at the meeting. – Staff Reporter