No change in Tigers’ squad for series-deciding Test

DHAKA—The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) today named an unchanged squad for the second and final Test against Sri Lanka, starting Thursday at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Given the performance of the players in the drawn first Test, the Bangladesh national team selectors didn’t find any reason to bring up any changes to the squad.

Despite playing the Test over five days in scorching heat, no Bangladesh players were injured, much to the delight of the team management.

By drawing the first Test, Bangladesh opened their account in the World Test Championship (WTC). They earlier lost five straight matches of the WTC, which forced them to languish at the bottom table with 0 points. They are still at the bottom table but at least could keep 20 points to their name finally.

Bangladesh declared their first innings on 541-8, thanks to Nazmul Hossain Shanto epic 163 and Mominul Haque’s 127, his first overseas ton. Tamim Iqbal paved the platform with whirlwind 90. Sri Lanka however declared their first innings 648-8, taking a 107-run lead. Tamim then played another 74-run knock as Bangladesh reached 100-2 in the second innings before the match ended in a draw in batting paradise.

Squad for second Test: Mominul Haque (Captain), Litton Kumer Das, Md Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal Khan, Shadman Islam, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Mohammed Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shoriful Islam.BSS