Premier Cricket: Mosaddek’s all-round show sinks Mohammedan

Dhaka – In the second round of the Super League of ongoing Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, Abahani Limited beat Mohammedan Sporting Club by 45 runs on Wednesday at BKSP ground, Savar.

Mosaddek Hossain, who recently got the chance in the World Cup squad of the Tigers, showed an all-round performance to seal the match for Abahani.

Abahani won the toss and decided to bat first. They have accumulated a mammoth total of 304 for seven wickets in 50 overs.

Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun and Mosaddek Hossain contributed most with the bat as they scored 64, 56 and 54 respectively. Along with them, Najmul Hossain Shanto and Mohammad Saifuddin scored 36 and 41 respectively.

For Mohammedan, Shafiul bagged three wickets while Rahatul Ferdous took two wickets.

While replying, Mohammedan lost three wickets in 20 runs. Two of the first three wickets of Mohammedan were taken by right-arm off-spinner Mosaddek.

Despite two superb knocks from Raqibul Hasan and Mohammad Ashraful, Mohammedan tumbled for 259 all-out in 46.3 overs and eventually they lost the game by 45 runs.

While Raqibul scored 96 with 10 fours and three fours, Ashraful recorded his first half-century of the season smashing 68.

For Abahani, Mosaddek and Mashrafe bagged three wickets each while Soumya Sarkar took two wickets.

Mosaddek was awarded man of the match for his fifty and three-wicket haul.

In the other match in Fatullah, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club beat Legends of Rupganj by four wickets. It was Rupganj’s first defeat after nine consecutive wins.

Rupganj won the toss and batted first. They posted 171 all-out in 49.3 overs. Mohammad Naim was the best batsman for Rupganj as he hit 58 with two fours.

No one of their batsmen passed the 30-run mark. Rishi Dhawan was their second best batsman scoring only 23.

For Sheikh Jamal, Khaled Ahmed took four wickets while Taijul Islam took two wickets as well.

In reply, Sheikh Jamal lost Imtiaz Hossain (5), Dilshan Munaweera (2), Nasir Hossain (4) in just 20 runs. But Elias Sunny hit a fifty to continue chasing the target hitting a fifty (58).

Along with him, Nurul Hasan (29), Tanbir Hayder (43) contributed with the bat to seal the game.

For Sheikh Jamal, Nabil Samad bagged three wickets and Rishi Dhawan took two wickets.

Elias Sunny was awarded the man of the match award for his match-winning knock.

In the other match at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club battered Prime Bank Cricket Club by seven wickets in the low-scoring affair.

Doleshwar won the toss and sent Prime Bank to bat first, who capitulated for 169 all-out in 48.1 overs. Two of their first three batsmen returned with a duck. They lost three wickets in nine runs.

However, in the fourth wicket stand, Al-Amin and Alok Kapali added 85 runs. Al-Amin fell for 32 while Alok hit 61. Beside them, Ariful Haque and Monir Hossain posted 27 and 23 respectively at the lower of the order.

For Prime Doleshwar, Farhad Reza seized four wickets while Manik Khan and Taibur Rahman came up with two wickets each.

In reply, Prime Doleshwar chased the target in 43.4 overs with seven wickets in hand (172/3).

Saif Hassan was the best batsman for them hitting 55 while Farhad Reza remained unbeaten on 41.

Farhad was the man of the match with his tremendous all-round effort.UNB