Tigers begin practice in Sri Lanka after mandatory quarantine period

DHAKA —The Bangladesh national cricket team started their quarantine practice session in Sri Lanka today in a bid to prepare them for the two-match Test series against Lankans.

Mominul Haque and company were in mandatory three-day room quarantine from April 12-14 after arriving in Sri Lanka.

Their quarantine training will continue till tomorrow (Friday) after which they will play a two-day inter-squad warm-up game from April 17-18.

The Tigers will train on April 19 and 20 before taking on Sri Lanka for the first Test on April 21. The second and final Test starts on April 29. All of the two matches will be held in Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.

The final squad of Bangladesh will be announced after the inter-squad practice game.

The first day training of Tigers included all kinds of batting, bowling and fielding practice as the coaches looked busy to rectify the mistakes that the players did in the last series.

Mominul Haque who led the side just one victory out of six matches after taking over the Test captaincy role said that the Sri Lanka series will be challenging one for them but insisted that they need to improve their position in Test cricket, in which they remained extremely vulnerable.

“Sri Lanka is a great team at home. It will be challenging for us. It won’t be easy for us. But the situation we find ourselves in, we have to take up this challenge and get a good result. I think it will be a competitive series. Both teams have good pace bowlers. Batting is going to be very important. We haven’t been batting up to everyone’s expectations off late,” he said ahead of leaving the country.

Bangladesh of late has been in tumultuous condition following their 2-0 loss in the Test series against a depleted West India at home and a whitewash in ODI and T20 series in New Zealand.

Preliminary Squad: Mominul Haque, Liton Kumer Das, Md Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal Khan, Shadman Islam, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Mohammed Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Shohidul Islam, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan.BSS