Tigers take second dose of vaccine

DHAKA —The Bangladesh cricketers took the second dose of the vaccine in a bid to keep them protected from the Covid-19, a deadly virus that left the whole world stranded.

Before going to play the series against New Zealand in February, the cricketers of the Bangladesh national team took the first dose of corona vaccine.

Most of the members of the preliminary squad for the Test series against Sri Lanka have been vaccinated today. The rest of the cricketers will take the vaccine tomorrow.

“Most of the members of the preliminary squad announced for the Sri Lanka series have been vaccinated today. The one or two who are left will take it tomorrow,” Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) chief physician Debashis Chowdhury said here today.

After receiving the second dose of the vaccine today, fast bowler Taskin Ahmed thanked Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and urged everyone to be vigilant.

“We took a second dose of the vaccine today. Thank you Honourable Prime Minister for giving us such an opportunity. If you have the opportunity to get vaccinated, you should do it. If we are not aware of ourselves, this situation will continue to get worse day by day,” the young pacer said.

“So we are trying to be aware and urge you to be aware. Be aware of yourself and save the country. Of course I am proud to be vaccinated. As I said, thank you Bangladesh Cricket Board and Honourable Prime Minister for giving us such an opportunity. The dose of vaccine is completed before we go on another tour. I hope those around us will also take it. Since there is an online system (registration), everyone should take advantage of the opportunity and be aware.”

The Bangladesh Team will leave Dhaka on 12 April for a two-Test series against Sri Lanka, which is the part of ICC World Test Championship

Bangladesh team will be in mandatory three-day room quarantine from April 12-14 after arriving in Sri Lanka. They will then have quarantine training from April 15-16 after which they will play an inter-squad warm-up game from April 17-18.

The Tigers will train on April 19 and 20 before taking on Sri Lanka for the first Test on April 21. The second and final Test starts on April 29. All of the two matches will be held in Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.

Bangladesh will return to the country on May 4.

Preliminary Squad: Mominul Haque, Liton Kumer Das, Md Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal Khan, Shadman Islam, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Mohammed Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Shohidul Islam, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan.BSS