Rooppur nuclear energy project outlay approved

The Executive Committee of the National Economic Council (ECNEC) Tuesday approved eight development projects including the Taka 5,242 crore Rooppur Nuclear Power Plant project.The approval came from the ECNEC meeting held at the NEC Conference room in city’s Shere-E-Banglanagar.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, also the ECNEC Chairperson, presided over the meeting.
The approval of nuclear power plant project would pave the way of constructing a full-fledged nuclear power plant (2 units) at Ishwardi of Pabna.
The project cost stands at Taka 5,242 crore of which taka 4,000 crore would be provided by Russia as state credit.
An agreement on financial and constructional matters would be signed with Russia. Training programme for human resource development on nuclear technology has also been included in the project.
After the meeting it was informed in a briefing that 8 development projects involving a cost of Taka 9,498 crore have been approved.
Of the total cost Taka 3,034 crore will come from the national exchequer and the remaining Taka 6,464 crore will come as project assistance.
The other projects approved in the meeting are: Construction of 11 High Schools and 6 Colleges (govt.) in Dhaka metropolitan city (revised) Project (Taka 231 crore-GoB); Expansion, Reforms and Modernization of Bangabandhu Poverty Alleviation and Rural Development (currently BAPARD) Complex, Kotalipara, Gopalgonj (Revised) project (Taka 227 crore-GoB); Construction of Roads, Drains, Retaining wall and Culverts of under developed areas of Sylhet City Corporation project (Taka 153 crore-GoB); Establishment of Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib Eye Hospital and Training Institute, Gopalganj project (Taka 186 crore-GoB) and Conversion of 100 Megawatt Baghabari Gas Turbine Power Plant to 150 Megawatt Combined Cycle Power Plant Project (Taka 514 crore, GoB-80 crore and PA-434 crore).
The meeting was attended, among others, by ECNEC members including Ministers, Advisers to the Prime minister, members of the Planning Commission and Secretaries. (Source:

Leave a Reply