4 chosen for Bangla Academy Award

Dhaka, Jan 28 – Four personalities have been chosen for the Bangla Academy Sahitya Puroshkar 2018.
Director General of Bangla Academy Poet Habibullah Siraji announced the names at a press briefing at the academy on Monday afternoon.
The award recipients are Poet Kazi Rosy (Poetry), Mohit Kamal (Literature), Syed Mohammad Shahed (Essay and Research) and Afsan Chowdhury (Literature on Liberation War Affairs).
The winners will receive a cheque for Tk 2 lakh and crests each.
However, awards are not being given for translation, biography and travelogue, drama, science, technology and environment, and juvenile literature categories this time.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will distribute the awards among the recipients at the inaugural ceremony of the month-long Amar Ekushey Book Fair on February 1.
Last year, twelve personalities were given the Bangla Academy Sahitya Puraskar 2017.
Bangla Academy Sahitya Puroshkar (Bangla Academy Literary Award) is given by the Bangla Academy of Bangladesh in recognition of creative genius in advancement and overall contribution to the field of Bengali language and literature. – UNB