52 Moulna Bhashani Varsity teachers withdraw resignation

A day after resigning from the administrative posts following alleged humiliation by Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) men, 52 teachers of Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University (MBSTU) withdrew their resignation letters on Tuesday after action was taken against those responsible for the incident.

The decision to withdraw the resignation letters came at a meeting of the MBSTU Teachers’ Association at noon.

On Monday, the teachers resigned from the administrative posts after some BCL leaders of the university unit allegedly humiliated some of their fellows.

University authorities have suspended five BCL leaders over the incident. The decision was taken at a meeting of the Regent Board of the university on Monday night.

Those were suspended are MBSTU BCL President SajibTalukder, vice-presidents Imran Miah and Panna Das, joint secretaries Jabir Iqbal and Yeasin Arafat.

MBSTU Proctor Dr Sirajul Islam on Tuesday said show-cause notices were also served on the suspended students asking them to explain in seven days as to why they should not be expelled from the university.

At the meeting, a three-member committee was also formed with Regent Board member and former Jahangirnagar University Vice-chancellor Prof Shariff Enamul Kabir as its head to look into the teachers’ humiliation. The committee was asked to submit its report within three weeks.

Besides, the Regent Board formed another body with its member and former VC of Noakhali Science and Technology University Prof Saidul Haque Chowdhury as its head to amend the university ordinance.

Following the suspension of the BCL leaders, the teachers withdrew their resignation letters.

MBSTU Teachers’ Association President Dr Mohammad Shahin Uddin said they held a meeting over the issue at noon where they decided to withdraw the resignation letters of the teachers after punitive action was taken against those responsible.

Meanwhile, a group of BCL men brought out a procession on the campus in the morning protesting the suspension of the BCL leaders.

They also held a press briefing at Tangail Press Club around 2 pm demanding withdrawal of the suspension order of the BCL leaders and amendment to the university ordinance.

Sajib Talukder read out a written statement at the news conference.

MBSTU Teachers’ Association President ShahinUddin said the BCL leaders of the university unit on Sunday morning forced teachers to allow Physics department student Ishita Biswas, also student affairs deputy secretary of the university unit BCL, to appear at an examination though she could not come out successful in her previous semester exams.

When the teachers asked them not to use force, the BCL leaders humiliated Physics department Chairman Dr Anwar Hossain and teacher Mohiuddin Tasnin.

Later, an application signed by 15 teachers was submitted to the Vice-Chancellor’s office demanding punishment of Sajib Talukdar, Imran Miah, Panna Das and Jabir Iqbal.

As their demand went unheeded, 52 teachers resigned from their respective administrative post on Monday.

source: UNB