BB awards license to 6 new banks

Some six new banks have been given license by Bangladesh Bank (BB) to start their business.

The banks are NRB Commercial Bank, Union Bank, South Bangla Agricultural Bank, Midland Bank, Meghna Bank and NRB bank.

On September 27 in 2011, the central bank invited applications from people interested in setting up new commercial banks. At present, 47 public, private and foreign banks are in operation in the country.

Leave a Reply