PM, Khaleda have no duty-free cars

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Opposition Leader Khaleda Zia have not bought any duty-free cars as Members of Parliament, the Finance Minister said on Monday.

Answering a written query of Naogaon-2 MP Shahiduzzaman Sarkar, Abul Maal Abdul Muhith said 35 MPs, including the two leaders, have not taken the privilege.

Among the 35, there are 15 Cabinet members, he said.

Muhith said 315 MPs, including Former President Hussein Muhammad Ershad, and 38 Cabinet members, have bought duty-free vehicles.

Parliament has 345 seats, including 45 one reserved for women. But the count of MPs rose as several lawmakers died and one quit leading to election of new MPs to their constituencies.

The national exchequer has been deprived of around Tk 11.23 billion due to the debated duty exemption, he said.

The ministers who did not use the privilege are Muhith, Matia Chowdhury, Syed Ashraful Islam, GM Quader, Dipu Moni, Faruk Khan, Shahara Khatun, Nurul Islam Nahid, Abdur Razzaque, Rezaul Karim Hira and Enamul Huq Mostafa Shaheed.

State Minister for Power Energy and Mineral Resources Mohammad Enamul Huq, State Minister for LGRD Jahangir Kabir Nanok, State Minister for Health Mozibur Rahman Fakir and State Minister for Religious Affairs Md Shahjahan Miah also did not buy duty-free vehicles.

BNP’s Salahuddin Quader Chowdhury, Kazi Shah Mofazzel Hossain Kaikobad and Barkatullah Bulu also did not take the privilege.

Former MP Tanzim Ahmed, better known as Sohel Taj, who quit last year, also did not buy duty-free

Leave a Reply