Premier Cricket: Fiery Ziaur takes Sheikh Jamal to final

Dhaka – All-rounder Ziaur Rahman smashed 72 off 29 deliveries in the first semifinal of Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League (DPDCL) T20 against Shinepukur Cricket Club on Friday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium to help his team Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club advance to the final. Sheikh Jamal won the match by five wickets.

Shinepukur won the toss and batted first in the match. They posted a challenging total of 181 for seven wickets in 20 overs, and Sheikh Jamal chased this target with five wickets in hand in 17.4 overs (182/5).

The captain of the team, Afif Hossain, struck 65 off 41 deliveries with seven fours and three sixes to his name. Sabbir Hossain, the second highest run-getter for them, scored 47 off 32 with two fours and three sixes to his credit.

Afif looked to go further. But he tried to be more aggressive way to play Shahidul Islam. That resulted in his dismissal. Afif was bowled by the right-arm pacer. Just before the dismissal, he scooped Shahidul through the third man area. But Afif disappointed to maintain a gentle run.

Towhid Hridoy (24) and Shuvagata Hom (31) contributed with the bat along with. Shuvagata smashed two fours and as many as sixes in short stay in the wicket.

Salahuddin Sakil, the left-arm pacer of Sheikh Jamal, took four wickets for 28 runs while Shahidul Islam bagged two wickets for them.

In reply, Sheikh Jamal lost first two wickets in 34 runs. Imtiaz Hossain (11) fell victim to run-out while Fardeen Hasan (22) was stumped by Dhiman Ghosh. Hasanuzzaman (13) and former national star Nasir Hossain (16) also departed quickly. After their dismissal, Tanbir Hyder got out without anything on the board.

However, in the fifth wicket stand, captain Nurul Hasan Sohan and Ziaur Rahman added 117 runs to ensure the win with five wickets in the hand. Nurul remained unbeaten on 43 while Zia smashed 72.

Sheikh Jamal will meet the winner of the second semifinal (Prime Bank or Prime Doleshwar) in the final which is scheduled to be played on March 3.UNB