Rajshahi , Chittagong Divisions win

Dhaka – Rajshahi Division beat Rangpur Division by 6 runs on the 4th and last day of the four-day 3rd round Tier-1 match of the National Cricket League (NCL) at Academy ground of the Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium in Cox’s Bazar on Tuesday.

In the day’s other Tier-1 match, Khulna Division, despite back to back centuries by national opener Anamul Haque Bijoy, played to a draw with Dhaka Division on the last and final day at Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium in Cox’s Bazar.

In Tier-2 matches, Chittagong Division outplayed Sylhet Division by nine wickets on the final day at the Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi while Barisal Division settled for a draw with Dhaka Metropolis at Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogura on Tuesday.

Former national skipper Mohammad Ashraful of Barishal Division smashed not out 150.

After the 3rd round matches, national star studded Khulna Division topped the Tier -1 list securing 17.5 points followed by holders Rajshahi Division with 13.11.

In Tier-2, Chattogram Division took lead in the league table securing 16.42 while Barishal Division followed them with 14.62.

Tier 1: Rajshahi Division vs Rangpur Division

Resuming the 2nd innings with 56 runs, Rajshahi Division were all out for 190 in 102.1 overs setting a small winning target of 118 runs for Rangpur on the 4th and final day.

Sunzamul Islam and Muktar Ali, who were unbeaten at 2 and 19 on the 3rd day, scored 36 and 24 runs respectively.

Tanbir Hayder bagged 3 for 30 while Sohrawordi Shuvo, Mahmudul Hasan and Sanjit Saha took two wickets each conceding 36, 35 and 30 runs respectively.

In reply, Rangpur Division were dismissed for 111 runs in 60.4 overs to concede six-run defeat. Naeem Islam scored the teams’ highest 36 and Ariful Haque added 26 runs.

Sunzamul Islam picked up 5 wickets for 48 while Saqlain Sajib also bagged 5 for 35.

Later, Sunzamul Islam named as the player of the match.

Rajshahi Division: Ist Innings 201 ;Farhad 60, Rishad 5/20; 2nd innings 190, Sunzamul 36, Tanbir 3/30

Rangpur Division: Ist Innings 274, Maruf 78, Nasir 62, Naeem 54, Sunzamul 3/86

2nd innings 111: Naeem 36, Sunzamul 5/48, Sajib 5/35.

Tier 1: Khulna Division vs Dhaka Division

Despite smashing back to back century with unbeaten 151 runs in the 2nd innings by Anamul Haque, the 3rd round Tier-1 NCL match between Khulna Division and Dhaka Division ended draw on the 4th and last day at the Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium in Cox’s Bazar on Tuesday.

Khulna Division, who were leading by 200 runs on the 3rd day (Monday), resumed the 2nd innings and declared the innings at 301 for 3 in 77 overs and set a tough target of 357 runs for Dhaka.

Anamul, who was in batting with 61 runs, smashed not out 151 off 225 balls hitting nine fours and eight sixes while Nurul Hasan added 61 off 82 balls, featuring one four and four sixes.

Nazmul Islam picked up two wickets for 105 runs while Salauddin Sakil took one for 37.

In reply Dhaka Division scored 119 for 7 in 57 overs when bails were drawn for the last day.

Captain Nadif Chowdhury scored team’s highest 37 and Nazmul Islam contributed not out 26 runs.

Mahedi Hasan took five for 46 while Abdur Razzak and Moinul Islam picked up one wicket each conceding 54 and 8 runs.

Anamul Haque was adjudged man of the match.

Khulna Division: first innings- 371, Anamul 126, Tushar 55, Sumon 3/51, Taibur 3/41 and 2nd innings- 301/3 (declared) , Anamul 151*, Imarn 66, Nurul 61*, Nazmul 2/105 ;

Dhaka Division first innings: 316- Rony 73, Saif 72, Raqibul 56, Mahedi Hasan 4/92, Razzak 3/72

2nd innings- 119/7, Nadif 37, Mahedi Hasan 5/46.

Tier 2: Sylhet Division vs Chattogram Division

Resuming the first innings with overnight total of 191 for 6 in 33 overs, Chittagong Division declared the innings for 229 for 9 in 43.2 overs on the 4th and final day on Tuesday.

Mahidul Islam Ankon, who was batting on 2, scored 29 runs on the day.

Abu Jayed claimed 4 for 86 while Enamul Haque Jnr took two for 35.

Sylhet Division, which scored 163 in the first innings, were all out for 109 in 39 overs in the 2nd innings leaving an small winning target of 43 runs for Chattogram

Captain Alok Kapali scored the team’s highest 31 runs, Rejaur Rahman contributed 16 and Shahanur Rahman 14.

Mehedi Hasan Rana took five for 30 while Hasan Mahmud and Ifran Hossain bagged two wickets each conceding 40 and 22 runs.

In reply, Chittagong Division scored 45 runs for one in 6.4 overs to win the match by nine wickets. Irfan Sukkur and Pinak Ghosh were unbeaten on 26 and 10 runs respectively.

Shahanur Rahman took one wicket conceding 9 runs for Sylhet.

Ifran Hossain named as the player of the match.

Sylhet Division: first innings 163, Alok 42, Irfan 6/57, Hasan 3/49.

2nd innings 109, Alok 31, Rana 5-30;

Chattogram Division: first innings 229/9 declared, Pinak 100, Jayed 4-86, Enamul 2/35.

2nd innings- 45/1, Irfan 26*, Shahanur 1/9.

Tier 2, Barishal Division vs Dhaka Metropolis

The 3rd round Tier-2 NCL match between Barisal Division and Dhaka Metropolis ended in draw on the 4th and last day of the four-day at Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra on Tuesday.

After washed out first three days’ play for rain and wet outfield , Dhaka Metropolis sent Barishal Division to bat first on the day.

Barishal declared 312 for 5 in 72.4 overs in the first innings, riding on unbeaten 150 by Mohammad Ashraful.

Ashraful smashed 150 off 204 hitting 16 fours, Sohag Gazi scored 68 off 55 featuring four fours and five sixes, Salman Hossain remained unbeaten on 50 off 65 hitting five fours.

Sharifullah bagged three for 114, Shahidul Islam and Manik Khan took one wicket each conceding 44 and 52 runs respectively.

Dhaka Metropolis scored 34 without any loss in 12 overs at the end of the last day. Shadman Islam and Rakin Ahmed were in batting with 17 runs each.

Mohammad Ashraful was adjudged the player of the match.

Barishal Division: first innings 312/5 (declared), Ashraful 150*, Gazi 68, Salman 58*, Sharifullah 3/114; Dhaka Metropolis first innings: 34/0 (Shadman 17*, Rakin 17*).

Standings of NCL after the 3rd round (Tabulating under match played, win, loss tied, draw, , net run rate and points):


teams M    W L T D N/R PT

Khulna Division 2 1 0 0 1 0 13.7

Dhaka Division 2 0 0 0 2 0 6.94

Rangpur Division 2 0 0 0 2 0 5.22

Rajshahi Division 2 0 1 0 1 0 4.61


teams M W L T D N/R PT

Barishal Division 2 1 0 0 1 0 12

Sylhet Division 2 1 1 0 0 0 11.19

Chattogram Division 2 0 0 0 2 0 6.92

Dhaka Metropolis 2 0 1 0 1 0 4.49