7 get death penalty for killing Swechhasebak League man

A trial court has ordered death sentence for seven accused for the murder of Swechhasebak League leader Manir Uddin Manu.
In its verdict on Monday, Dhaka’s Fourth Speedy Trial Tribunal found eight people guilty of the 2006 murder in the capital’s Mirpur area. It ordered life imprisonment for one of them.Those awarded the death penalty are ‘Shahadat’, Md Mintu, Md Masudur Rahman Tota alias Totla Masud, Liton Hossain Lotus alias Nuruzzaman, Md Noban Ibne Bashar alias Babu, Masudur Rahman Sohel and Md Hossaun Sarwar Ziku.
Another ‘Jahanara’ got life-in-prison.
Sohel and Ziku were present at the court on Monday, while the others are absconding after securing bail, said Prosecutor Taslima Yasmin Dipa.
Swechhasebak League leader Manu was murdered in front of his home at Mirpur on Aug 15, 2006.
He was shot eight times and died on the spot, according to the case details.
Swechhasebak League is the volunteers’ front of the ruling Awami League.