Bd opposition Oikya Front exchanges views with media editors

Though the alliance is set to enter the election race, Jatiya Oikyafront leaders on Friday could not clear who will be the prime minister if it wins the next general election.

While exchanging views with the editors of print media at a city hotel, they said they will take the decision in this regard following discussions after the election, said an editor.

In reply, Dr Kamal Hossain said the majority parties will sit and take the decision who will be the prime minister after discussion if they come out victorious in the election, he said.

The views-exchange meeting of the Jatiya Oikyafront leaders with the editors of print media began around 3:30 pm at Hotel Lakeshore and ended around 5:30 pm.

Naimul Islam said the meeting began with the deliberations of Dr Kamal Hossain and BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir. In their speeches, they wanted to know what should be done to hold the 11th parliamentary elections in a free and fair manner, he said.

Mentioning that verses from the religious books of all regions are read and there are discussions on the country’s independence and Bangabandhu at their rallies, an asked the Oikyafront leaders whether it is the outcome of their collective thought.

However, they did not give an instant answer to the question and said they will do it later, he said. They also did not reply to his question as to how they will celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the independence and the birth centenary of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman in 2021 if they win or lose the next election, Naimul Islam said, adding that they said they would give the reply later.

Apart from Dr Kamal Hossain and Fakhrul, BNP senior leaders Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, JSD president Abdur Rob, Nagorik Oikya convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna attended the programme. Prothom Alo editor Matiur Rahman, New Age editor Nurul Kabir, Manabzamin editor Matiur Rahman Chowdhury, News Today editor Moslem Uddin Ahmed, Dhaka Tribune editor Zafar Sobhan, Holiday editor Kamaluddin Ahmed and weekly Saptahik editor Golam Mortaza were, among others, present.

source: UNB