Premier Cricket: Prime Bank, Sheikh Jamal advance to semifinals

Dhaka – With the back-to-back wins, Prime Bank Cricket Club and Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club advanced to the semifinals of Dhaka Premier Division T20 Cricket League on Wednesday.

Both the semifinals will be held on Friday (March 1) at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur with Sheikh Jamal DC taking on Shinepukur CC and Prime Bank CC playing against the champions of Group D.

At the Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah, Sheikh Jamal beat Uttara Sporting Club by four runs. The match was also hit by rain and was reduced to eight-over-a-side one.

Sheikh Jamal posted 72 runs for five wickets in eight overs with the help of Fardeen Hasan’s 25. Imtiaz Ahmed (12) and Nasir Hossain (11) were the other notable contributors for Sheikh Jamal DC.

Sajjad Hossain was the best among Uttara SC bowlers taking three wickets for eight runs in one over.

In reply, Uttara scored 59 for five in eight overs and lost the match by four runs under the DLS method.

Tanzid Hasan (11), Anisul Islam Emon (13), Mohimenul Khan (12) and Shakhir Hossain (12) tried their best to register a win for Uttara but failed.

In the day’s other match in Fatullah, Mohammedan Sporting Club beat Legends of Rupganj by 30 runs. But that was not enough to help them march to the semifinals as Shinepukur Cricket Club have ensured semifinal berth as the first team of this group with two consecutive wins.

Mohammedan posted 143 for nine wickets after batting first in the match with the help of Nadif Chowdhury (41), Sohag Gazi (21) and Alauddin Babu (30).

Mohammad Shahid took three wickets for Rupganj while Mizanur Rahman bagged two.

In reply, Rupganj scored 113 for eight wickets in 20 overs and lost the match.

Azmir Ahmed (18), Shahriar Nafees (15), Naeem Islam (28), Muktar Ali (10) and Asif Hasan (14) reached double digits but disappointed to win the game.

Saqlain Sajib, Nihaduzzaman and Shahadat Hossain took two wickets each for Mohammedan while Sohag Gazi and Alauddin Babu bagged one wicket each.

In the day’s other match at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Prime Bank beat Abahani by 49 runs and ensured the semifinal berth.

Prime Bank scored 176 for 6 in 20 overs after batting first. Abahani tumbled for 127 for nine in 20 overs.

Anamul Haque (37), Rubel Mia (76), Al Amin (20), Ariful Haque (21) were the main scorers for Prime Bank.

Mohammad Saifuddin, Rubel Hossain, Ariful Islam, Zakaraia Islam and Sabbir Rahman took one wicket each for Abahani.

Abahani lost four wickets inside 50 runs and eventually lost the game.

Monir Sheikh and Alok Kapali took three wickets each for Prime Bank to help them secure a place in the semifinals.

The day’s other match between Gazi Group Cricketers and Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club was abandoned due to persistent rain in Mirpur. The match was rescheduled for Thursday (February 28) at the same venue.UNB