‘SCBA polls reflects people’s verdict’

BNP standing committee member barrister Moudud Ahmed said pro-opposition Bangladesh Jatiyatabadi
Ainjibi Oikya Parishad (JAOP) panel won a landslide victory in the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA)
election for the 2013-14 term, bagging 13 posts out of 14.He said, “SCBA poll result reflected people’s verdict. The ruling party is now practicing ill-politics and the
countrymen will not accept it. They will drag the government out of power for its ill-conduct.”
Moudud came up with the remarks while addressing a discussion titled ‘Basic rights of people, ongoing
political crises’ at the VIP lounge of National Press Club on Friday.
The former law minister said, “Monday’s police attack at BNP central office proved that the ruling party
is not practicing democracy. The present government wants to turn the country into a police state as
they ordered such police actions.”
He said, “We have no alternative way except confrontation as the government is trying to create
unstable political situation.” (banglanews24.com)
Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikya Parishad (JAOP), supported by the opposition BNP and Jamaat alliance, has won a landslide in the elections for the 2013-14 term to take control of the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA).
The counting of ballots ended on the wee hours on Friday after the two-day annual elections ended on Thursday afternoon.
The opposition-backed panel won 13 of the 14 posts at stake, including those of President and General Secretary, spelling yet another electoral debacle for the ruling Awami League-backed Sammilita Ainjibi Samannaya Parishad (SASP). It managed only an executive member post.
The pro-government panel had lost the previous elections to the top forum of lawyers as well.
Former Attorney General AJ Muhammad Ali and Barrister Mahbub Uddin Khokon of JAOP were elected President and General Secretary respectively.
Ali bagged 1,669 votes while his challenger former SCBA President Abdul Baset Majumder polled 1,340 votes.
Khokan won 1,676 ballots while his rival Robiul Alam Budu got 1,369 votes.
Ali is also an advisor to the BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia and Khokan is one of the Joint Secretaries General of the party.
SASP’s Hosne Ara Begum Babli prevented a clean sweep for the JAOP, wooing 1,659 votes beating JAOP’s Mohammad Tajul Islam Majumder.
Election Sub-committee Convenor Nur Hossain Chowdhury had told bdnews24.com earlier that some 3,200 members out of 4,045 cast their votes.
The other conternders from SASP were Sheikh Awsafur Rahman Bulu and M Sarwar Ahmed (Vice Presidents), Robiul Alam Budu (Secretary), Suja Al Faruk and Mohammad Ali Azam (Assistant Secretaries), M Amir Hossain (Treasurer), and Habibur Rahman Habib, Gowranga Chandra Kor, M Anwar Hossain Reza, Ayesha Flora, Hosne Ara Begum (Babli), Abul Kalam Azad and Zahirul Islam Bhuiyan (Members).
The other runners from JAOP were ABM Waliur Rahman and M Shahajada (Vice Presidents), Barrister Mahbubuddin Khokon (Secretary), ABM Rafiqul Huq Talukder Raja, M Shahiduzzaman and M Saifur Rahman (Assistant Secretaries), M Rabiul Karim (Treasurer), Fatema Khatun, M Alamgir Hossain, M Kamruzzaman Selim, M Wahiduzzaman Sohel, M Mizanur Rahman Masum, Anjuman Ara Begum and Tajul Islam Majumder (Members). (bdnews24.com)

Leave a Reply