BNP top leaders file bail petitions

Seven top leaders of opposition BNP including acting secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam filed bail petitions with the High Court in five cases of Saturday’s torching, vandalizing vehicles and attacking on police.
The other leaders are standing committee members Barrister Moudud Ahmed, Mirza Abbas and Gayeswar Chandra Roy, Vice-chairman Abdullah Al Noman, joint secretaries general Aman Ullah Aman and Barkatullah Bulu.
The hearing on the petitions is likely to be held on Thursday in a High Court bench comprising Justice Kamrul Islam Siddiqui and Justice Sheikh Md. Zakir Hossain, said Barrister Ahsanur Rahman, lawyer of the BNP leaders.
Police, on Sunday, filed the five cases against 38 central leaders and activists of BNP for their alleged involvement in torching and vandalizing vehicles, and attacking policemen during the violence in the city’s Malibag, Mouchak and Siddeshwari areas.
The cases were filed with Ramna police station.

Leave a Reply