Malek wins unopposed Naogaon-5 by-polls

The Election Commission (EC) on Monday declared Awami League candidate Abdul Malek MP unopposed in the by-election to Naogaon-5 constituency. After examining the nomination papers of six aspirants on the last day of the withdrawal of candidature, Returning Officer Nuruzzaman Talukder declared him winner saying as there is no other alternative candidate.
Eleven people had collected nomination papers for the electoral race, but on April 26, the last date of submission of nomination paper, only six of them submitted.
They are district Jatiya Party president Tofazzel Hossain, Naogaon Sadar upazila Awami League president Ishaque Ali, independent candidates Abdul Bari and Abdus Sattar, Councilor of Naogaon municipality Faruquzzaman and district Awami League general secretary Abdul Malek.
The nomination papers of four were cancelled as those were not filed properly as per the election schedule, while that of Tofazzal Hossain was cancelled as his party nomination was not proper.
The returning officer said on Monday was the last date of withdrawing nomination paper. But, Abdul Malek was declared MP unofficially as there is no other alternative candidate.
The constituency fell vacant following the death of Abdul Jalil.

Leave a Reply