Pro-Al penal wins 18 out of 27 posts in Dhaka Bar election

Dhaka, Feb 09 – Of 27 positions of Dhaka Bar Association, Pro-Awami League lawyers (White panel) got 18 posts including the President, Vice President, General Secretary and Treasurer in the elections for 2019-2020.
On the other hand, the BNP-Jamaat backed blue panel bagged the remaining nine posts including the Senior Vice President. The result was declared on Friday midnight after completion of the counting of votes. However, counting was postponed for some time after Friday dust during the counting because of an altercation between several pro-Awami League and pro-BNP and Jamaat leaders and activists. Meanwhile, Kotwali Police Station Sub-Inspector Md Nuru Mia said, police controlled the situation instantly.
Advocate Mokhlesur Rahman Badal, Chief Election Commissioner of the bar association, on Friday night announced the results of the two-day elections held on February 27 and March 7. A total of 9,364 members out of the total 17,897 eligible voters exercised their franchise in the two-days’ poll.
The pro-AL white panel’s Gazi Md Shah Alam has been elected president. He got 5,317 votes while his nearest rival Blue panel’s Md. Iqbal Hossain got 4,068 votes.
Md Asaduzzaman Khan (Rochi) has been elected general secretary, who has got 4,716 votes and his rival aspirant Md Hossain Ali Khan Hassan got 4,682 votes.
The other winners from the white panel are – Md Jahangir Hossain Dulal- Vice-President, Abdul Jalil Afrad (Kabir) Treasurer, Md Jahangir Alam Mollah Senior Assistant General Secretary, Mohammad Omar Faruk Asif Assistant General Secretary, Md Jahidul Islam Kadir Office Secretary, Md Uzzal Mia Sports Secretary and Humayun Kabir Khandakar Togor Social Welfare Secretary.
From the Blue penal, Abdus Salam Dewan has been elected Senior Vice President, Md Ziaul Haque Zia Library Secretary and Morsheda Khatun Shilpi was elected Cultural Secretary. Besides, from this penal six lawyers have been elected members and they are-Kazi Raawshan Dil Afroz, Md Ibrahim Khalil, Md Iqbal Mahmud Sarker, Md Mahadi Hasan Jewel, Mst Farhana Akter Lubna and Shaheen Sultana Khuki.
From the pro-Awami League White penal, Nine lawyers have been elected members of the bar. They are-Ayesha Binte Ali, Hayat Al Mahmud Jiku, Kawser Hasan, Md Ibrahim Hossain, Md Jewel Sikder, Md Masum Mia, Sohrab Hossain, Tanvir Ahmad Sajib and Tushar Ghosh.
In the Dhaka Bar Association’s election of 2018-2019, pro-BNP-Jamaat’s Blue penal had won 13 of the 27 posts including the post of President while pro-Awami League’s White penal clinched 14 positions including the post of General Secretary. – Special Correspondent