5-member panel formed to find next ACC chief

The government on Sunday formed a five-member committee, headed by Justice Hasan Fayez Siddiqui, an Appellate Division judge, for choosing the new chairman of the Anti Corruption Commission (ACC) as the position will fall vacant soon.The committee will recommend two names to President Abdul Hamid for appointing the ACC chairman, said an official announcement.
The other members of the committee are Justice Moinul Islam Chowdhury, a High Court judge, Ahmedul Huq Choudhury, chairman of the Public Service Commission, Masud Ahmed, Comptroller and Auditor General, and M Abdul Aziz, a retired cabinet secretary.
Upon a writ petition, the High Court on June 11 sought explanations from ACC chairman Ghulam Rahman and three other government high officials to explain under which authority the ACC chief is continuing in his office despite the “expiry of his tenure” on May 1. (Source: UNB)

Leave a Reply