Four police stations in port city open

Four new police stations started functioning in the port city of Chittagong on Thursday.The government has set up the four police stations to meet the demands of the increasing population of the city.
Home Minister Mohiuddin Khan Alamgir is scheduled to inaugurate the police stations.
They are Chawlkbazar thana, Sadarghat thana, Akbar Shah thana and EPZ thana.
With the new thanas starting to give service, the total number of thanas in the metropolitan areas will reach 16.
M Shafiqul Islam, commissioner of Chittagong Metropolitan Police, said though all logistic supports including staff, transport and arms for the police stations could be ensured long ago, due to unavailability of land their construction works could not be started in time.
There are over 50 lakh people living in the city, but the number of police members is only 5,000.
According to the account, the ratio of service recipients to policemen is 1000:1, added the commissioner. (Source: UNB)

Leave a Reply